Arkansas Receives CSBS Bank Reaccreditation

Back to all News

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (May 7, 2024) — The Arkansas State Bank Department has earned reaccreditation status for bank supervision from the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS). The reaccreditation certifies that the department maintains top national standards and practices for state supervision set by the CSBS Bank Accreditation Program.

First accredited in August 1988, the Arkansas State Bank Department has been reaccredited seven times.

“Reaccreditation is extremely important to the operation of our agency and indicative of the strength of the bank regulatory regime in Arkansas,” said Commissioner of the Arkansas State Bank Department Susannah Marshall. “I am very proud of this accomplishment and the hard work our entire team committed to achieving this goal. The bank department staff works hard every day to provide Arkansas with a safe and sound banking industry, and we strive to operate a highly effective bank supervision program.”

“CSBS sets rigorous standards for our accreditation programs,” said CSBS President and CEO Brandon Milhorn. “Commissioner Marshall and the Arkansas State Bank Department’s reaccreditation demonstrates their continued commitment to meet these high standards and further promotes a strong state supervisory system for all financial services.”

CSBS established accreditation programs for bank, mortgage, and money services business supervision to identify highly competent state regulators of financial institutions, promote safe and sound financial services, and ensure consumer protection. To earn accreditation, state agencies must undergo a rigorous and comprehensive independent review of their operations, including administration and finance, personnel training, examination, supervision, and statutory powers.

For more information on all three CSBS Accreditation Programs, visit

Powered by Lapero